Booooooom!

Oh, how I love this site. Whenever I want to impress people with my vast knowledge of exciting new artists/designers/filmmakers/creative demi-gods I pop on over to booooooom.com and totally fake it. Artist Jeff Hamada created Booooooom “in hopes of fostering a community of people to go out and be creative!” He is also a fan of the over-enthusiastic use of the exclamation mark! Hurrah!

Their recent project, Remake, has to be one of the best things I found on the internet last year. Essentially it was an open call for readers to submit remakes of famous works of art. The competition is now over, but the gallery of submissions is still well worth a look for some entertaining, and often surprising, takes on the classics.

My favourite? It’s a toss-up between:

American Gothic. Original by Grant Wood, remade by Jesse John Hunniford.

And…

Gabrielle d’Estrees et une de ses souers. Original by an unknown artist, remade by Emile Barret.

The bubble wrap – ingenious!

Some art work was remade several times over, and I found the differences in interpretations made me look much closer at the originals and spot things I had never noticed before. I really love that such a simple concept inspired so many to celebrate their favourite artists/works in a myriad of ways.

You can check out the finalists here:

http://www.booooooom.com/2011/12/19/remake-finalists/

Penny for them:

