Bloomsbury Farmers’ Market

An 8:40am hospital card is ne’er a welcome addition to the diary of one who, frankly, needn’t get out of bed at all, but the happy discovery of a previously unknown farmers’ market certainly helped to ease the pain.

Just three roads down from the hustle and bustle of Tottenham Court Road resides Torrington Square. Every thursday, this drab little piece of University of London-owned grey concrete transforms into Bloomsbury Farmers’ Market.

Promising seasonal produce all from within a 100-mile radius of the M25, the Market entices with stalls brimming with cheese, bread, jam, every pastry-based confection known to man, and fresh fruit and vegetables, the like of which you will never find in Lidl (much as I appreciate its very reasonably priced flat-pack furniture).

A jaunt to Pret-A-Manger was quickly cancelled in favour of a Moroccan vegan parcel, an olive ficcelle and a piece of chocolate Tiffin that was so sticky I’m still licking my fingers.

I took my goodies and parked myself on a sun-drenched bench outside the sublimely pretty University Church of Christ the King. Stretched out like a cat, I closed my eyes and pretended I was in Spain.

Ten minutes later, I realised I had burnt my nose. Good grief.

Deets of farmers’ markets across London can be found on the London Farmers’ Markets’ website: http://www.lfm.org.uk

Penny for them:

