Bang Bang

If you’ve a champagne taste but lager budget, Bang Bang on Goodge Street might just be the answer to your prayers. Selling second-hand designer clothing and accessories, alongside carefully selected vintage and quality high-street wares, Bang Bang markets itself as an eco-friendly way to indulge the materialistic (and, ahem, the less well-off) consumer in us all.

The turnover is constant, and the buyers have a real knack for selecting items that echo current trends. While at college very close-by, the obsessive compulsive in me used to pop in at least weekly to have a good root around and make sure I didn’t miss anything special. In the past year I’ve found a Topshop Unique dress with the original tags still intact for £50, several beautiful Reiss shirts for around £20 a pop and another brand new Zara skirt for a mere £8. I could have bought much more, the selection of designer shoes calls to me every time I visit, but bearing in mind my budget is more White Lightning than lager, I have been forced to restrain myself.

The main point of this post is not just to gush about one of my favourite London haunts, but to give a shout out to the woman who has recently sold her entire Vivienne Westwood collection to the store. You have selflessly enabled the fashionista in those of us who are less privileged, and for that I salute you.

If you’re a size 10 or 12, and you like a bit of asymmetry: GO, GO, GO!

Bang Bang:

21 Goodge Street and 9 Berwick Street, W1.

http://bangbangexchange.tumblr.com/

Penny for them:

