The Pogues feat. Kirsty MacColl

I am not a fan of Christmas songs. I have worked in retail since I was 16 and it has ruined Christmas for me. I’m no Scrooge, but when you have heard the Destiny’s Child Christmas medley on the hour, every hour, from the 1st of November until the end of the January sales, you will never feel the same way again. For me, the merest hint of a festive jingle is mired with the memories of appalling rude customers, endless tidying, and, one particularly dismal year, a shit in the changing rooms. An actual, real-life turd.

Merry fucking Christmas to you, too.

There is, however, one exception, and that is today’s Tuesday Tune. It is not your average Christmas song; it is far more honest about how crap the Holiday can actually be. And that is precisely why I like it.

If you are celebrating, may I wish you a very merry Christmas. If you aren’t, well, fuck it, it’s a paid day off.

I’m off to get the sprouts on.

One thought on “The Pogues feat. Kirsty MacColl

Penny for them:

